The Greatest (New Year’s) Resolution One Can Ever Make

My apologies to Dr. Mark H. Creech:

“To live righteously before God is the greatest resolution anyone can ever make in life. Such a resolution begins with repentance of sin and turning to Christ for forgiveness.”

And just because my name is Paul – I love how Dr. Creech quotes George Burger:

“I will like Paul, forget those things which are behind and press forward; like David, lift up mine eyes unto the hills from whence cometh my help; like Abraham, trust implicitly in my God; like Enoch, walk in daily fellowship with my heavenly Father; like Jehoshaphat, prepare my heart to seek God; like Moses choose rather to suffer than to enjoy the pleasures of sin for a season; like Daniel, commune with my God at all times; like Job, be patient under all circumstances; like Caleb and Joshua, refuse to be discouraged because of superior numbers; like Joseph, turn my back to all seductive advances; like Gideon, advance even though my friends be few; like Aaron and Hur, uphold the hands of my spiritual leaders; like Isaiah, consecrate myself to do God’s work; like Andrew, strive to lead my brother into a closer walk with Christ; like John lean upon the bosom of the Master and imbibe of His Spirit; like Stephen manifest a forgiving spirit toward all who seek my hurt; like Timothy, study the Word of God; like the heavenly host, proclaim the message of peace on earth and good will toward all men; and like my Lord Himself, overcome all earthly allurements by refusing to succumb to their enticements.

Realizing that I cannot hope to achieve these objectives by my own strength, I will rely upon Christ, for ‘I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me’ (Philippians 4:13).”

So there. My friend Justin Alexandra has a very nice video where she elaborates that 2012 was transitioning and 2013 is IMPLEMENTING. I love how she wants to be better. Time to PR (personal record) our lives and GET AFTER IT! Have an awesome 2013!

One last thing, this got re-tweeted several times (14 as I’m posting this), so here goes:

You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream – C.S. Lewis

Leave a Reply

