The Carisse Escueta Manifesto: Changing our Nation through Children’s Music

I want to change my country, and I believe music is the way to do it. My country, the Philippines, is an enigma of sorts. On one hand, we seem like a basket case, never really progressing beyond an inch of real growth, and on the other, an astounding and far reaching pool of musical talent. I believe a country is only as rich as its most precious resource – its people. This is why I believe I can change my country through music.” – Carisse Escueta

Before Carisse decides to pull this down, I’ll re-blog it – she might now have gotten the internship but hopefully someone like-hearted like her will pick up the baton and do something about it. Maybe there’s a lot more people people like Carisse and her blog post will achieve some resonance (or harmonics? I’ll ask Mark Laccay or someone from Berklee like Malek Lopez or Karel Honasan which is which hahaha):

To: The Internship Coordinator

The Recording Academy

San Francisco Chapter

I want to change my country, and I believe music is the way to do it.

My country, the Philippines, is an enigma of sorts. On one hand, we seem like a basket case, never really progressing beyond an inch of real growth, and on the other, an astounding and far reaching pool of musical talent. I believe a country is only as rich as its most precious resource – its people. This is why I believe I can change my country through music.

Please explain why you feel you are a qualified applicant for this position.

Working for a foundation means understanding that you must have a heart for the task at hand. The work you will do is thankless, it is going to be tough, and you will be faced with opposition and setbacks. Without the heart for it, you will give up before the fight has begun. And I know my heart beats for the arts, for MUSIC. I have seen the effects of a society that neglects its wealth in the arts, and its people lose a sense of themselves. Not everyone understands why music is so important. Is it not one of the first to go when a school faces budget issues? My own country has fallen short in its attention to this detail, and yet our people continue to sing, to make music, to walk to the beat of our drum. I feel I am qualified precisely because I acknowledge the work that has to be done to keep music alive, and I can, will and HAVE worked hard for it. I dream of change – idealistic perhaps, but it is a compass that steers my course when obstacles get in the way. When I return home, I intend to begin a record label and production company that focuses solely on children’s music. I am blessed to have access to the best talent my country has to offer and I intend to utilize that access to come up with quality music that will change the face of my nation. I want to give artists a chance to be part of a noble project that blesses the most precious of people – children.

What do you expect to gain from participation in this program?

From the get-go, I plan to keep my eyes and ears open. I acknowledge that because I come from another country, my experiences may not be similar to those of the US, which is why I am decided on being open to anything. The Foundation is an organization that not only has a lot of influence, but is my standard for excellence, service and dedication. Just to be able to serve this organization is a privilege. Any experience I gain will surely be passed on to my country. I believe that there is much room for improvement in my country’s music industry, and I can be excellent if I am mentored by and learn from someone excellent.

What special qualities or traits can you bring to this program?

I served as a teacher for 5 years in my home country. Part of my frustration with the music industry, and media in general, was that children weren’t being given the chance to experience good music. Instead, they were fed with repetitive gibberish that came with matching dance steps that had sexual undertones. My indignation turned to hope because I realized that I didn’t have to accept what was being given. And so I conceptualized a children’s album that I hope to produce, record and distribute throughout my home country. That being said, I believe that it is this mindset, coupled with my experience as a teacher, that shows I bring not just administrative skills to the program but also creative ideas. I like to think out of the box and push boundaries without being belligerent, and I pay strict attention to detail. I believe leadership means service, and not power. I am a self-starter and finisher, and work well under pressure. I believe that any endeavor is better accomplished with a team that is solid, each member knowing his specific function and its importance. No role is too small.

One thought on “The Carisse Escueta Manifesto: Changing our Nation through Children’s Music

Leave a Reply

